Homestyle · iheartslFeed · Just for fun

Goodbye to Wynter…

There is nothing like staying at home for real comfort. ~Jane Austen

I love that quote. I’m a homebody. This is true in SL and RL alike. While I love traveling, and a good road trip can make me about the happiest person on earth, at the end I am always happy to come back to my own bed, to the comforts and familiarity of my own home.

In SL, I love changing houses. I love decor. I love the lack of dust and dirt. 😛

In January, I started to use this adorable Wynter Cottage from Funky Junk. It’s the first house I’ve ever had where I retextured the rooms. My BFF Rosa is always retexturing houses, but I’ve always just bought houses I loved the textures in, so I never bothered. I liked this house as it was, but I wanted to get creative and find ways to make it more “me,” so I decided to try it. I honestly expected to fail… but I wound up loving the results, at least I did after hours and hours of internal debate! The textures I used are all from Insight Designs, with the exception of the study, which are from (]LL[) Designs.

Probably not surprisingly, with a name like Wynter, this home has frosted windows, and there’s an option to make it looking like it’s snowing outside, by clicking on the home control system. While we will likely get snow where I live until mid-May (sometimes later), I’m ready for spring! And so, since I know I will want to change houses soon, I decided it was time to snap some pics of this one.

First up is the bathroom. I haven’t had a bathroom in SL in a really long time, and I still don’t have a toilet, since Rosa gave me a cute little outhouse. But I loved the elegance of the Ondine bath set from What Next and wanted to build a bathroom around it. The reclaimed fireplace is also from What Next, but the candles used to light it are from Art Dummy, as is the Silence wall art. You can click through to flickr and hover over this image (or any other in this post) to get details on where each item is from, or you can ask me in comments. Or even IM me in SL. I don’t bite!

Bathroom Collage

The second floor of the Wynter Cottage is a huge attic room, which is a great master bedroom that leaves plenty of room for little nooks. I created a music nook and a comfy little reading nook. I fell head over heels in love with the Chair De Lune moon chair from floorplan. Really, it is called a chair, but it would work as a bed, too. It has sleeping poses and it’s so darn cute. I love anything with moons or stars, so I knew I’d need this one when I saw it. My music nook consists of various What Next pieces.

Attic hang out areas

My bed set is the gorgeous one from LAQ Decor. I’ve used the bed in posts before, and will again… but it’s unlikely it will ever look exactly the same twice. That’s because there are tons of color options. The comforter, top sheet, pillows and even the wood on this bed all have so many color/pattern/wood choices. Then, just to add to it, you can tint all the various parts, which really makes this incredibly versatile. It’s also mesh, and the LI is really low… just 12 for the nightstands (all the stuff you see on them is affixed to them) and the bed! My chair is from Senzafine, and the pile of books are Old Books from Garden Of Dreams.

Bedroom

My living room is nearly entirely What Next. I used the Charlotte set. The cats and the tea and cupcakes are the only items not from What Next in this pic. Well, and obviously the house. It was January, but I wanted splashes of color, and cheer. It’s weird for me, since I’m not really into pink (poor Rosa nearly passed out), but I really wanted to feel like it was almost spring… now, today, it finally is!

Living Room

I turned the screened in porch into my study. Since it was, in fact, still winter I added a cozy woodburning stove from Lisp. I really love how this room came out. My younger sister Ali and Rosa like to tease me about my “clutter” love, but it makes me feel cozy. I’d have even more clutter if I could! My baby sister Isley’s things are in the study, including the What Next chalkboard I always rezz for her so she can study her letters and numbers. 😉

Study

This next picture is from a part of the living room I didn’t photograph, mainly because it involves furniture I’ll soon be using in a new home style blog. But I had to snap a pic of this spool table top from floorplan and the items I rezzed on it. The little box is from Beach Street, and I just adore it. I’ve felt that way about tea my entire life. I don’t know why, but tea has always made me feel comforted and calm, yet sophisticated and worldly… all at the same time. My journal is from What Next, and the teacup lamp is Lisp.

Tea

Finally, the kitchen. Again, it’s been a long time since I had a kitchen in SL. I fell in love with this Lisp kitchen, and I knew I had to have it. My art is from a combo of What Next and Sway’s. My little piggy bank is from Sway’s, too. I love her. She has pretty flowers (not visible here) on her side. She also works, so feel free to come by and pay my piglet (just kidding… you’d get kicked if you’re not on my security, lol). My teacups and spoons chandelier is also from Sway’s. I have a bit of a “thing” for spoons because of something called The Spoon Theory. The Spoon Theory was written by Christine Miserandino, and it was how she explained life with a chronic illness (in her case, lupus) to her “healthy” friend. I’ve used it many times myself, since first reading it, to try to better explain life with fibromyalgia. If you talk to me, you’ll frequently hear me say “I have no spoons” or something akin to that. Well, that’s what it refers to, and so between that and my insane tea obsession, I had to have this lamp!

The dining set from What Next is technically intended to be a garden set, but I had to have it for my little kitchen. I loved the fresh feel of the strawberries, and again, despite my usual aversion to pink, I felt the splash of fresh was very welcome in the long winter months.

Kitchen Collage

And now, with the arrival of Spring, I think it’s time to say goodbye to Wynter… you’ve been a great house, and undoubtedly one I’ll return to next year.

~Lucie

Credits: Click through to Flickr to see notes on where each item is from. Feel free to ask specific questions!

One thought on “Goodbye to Wynter…

  1. Spoon Chandelier!!!! How did I miss that?
    I love using your house for my clothes ads, so I’m partial to your need to redecorate and you always do a bangup job! (as for the outhouse, I’ve used it and plurked about it too, bwhahaha) A++

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.